Your editor is easily the second most important person. Many may argue they are the most important, but as I see it, you can’t edit a blank page. This person is key. I’ve discussed editors in detail in my series on editors here (Finding the Right Editor for You) so I’ll keep this basic today.

As I highlight in my series, there are many types of editors and you need them all. This takes you writing and polishes it so others can enjoy it, understand it, and see the story or information at it’s best!

It can be tricky to find that perfect editor for you. It takes a lot of work. I also takes testing. No editor is offended if you send them a sample to edit to see if you want to work with them. They are not offended if you feel the two of you aren’t a match. They’d rather a nice no than you going through it only to end up with a job you don’t like. So be honest, test and see who works best for you.

You also can have more than one. I always do. Most of all as my goal on this blog is to help you do this as cheaply as possible. (Yes even for free) so more than one editor is a great tool to get the best work out of it.

You will need at least these two editors.

  1. Content Editing
  2. Proofreading

To learn more about how to find the right kind of each editor for your work, click on the links.

So that’s your editor. Editors are the biggest and hardest part. There are lots of articles to help you know how to find the best one for you. Many on this very site. So look around. See what’s best for you and find the right person for you.

