So you want to make your amazing book into an audiobook? You want to narrator it yourself? Alright then: the first thing any narrator needs is the equipment to record with. This can be a kind of intimidating part because of how expensive it can be. However, you can find amazing gear for a good price if you know what you need, where to find it, and are willing to go with it.

The first thing you need to know is the basics you’ll need. Bare bones, the minimum you will need is:

  • Good microphone
  • Software to record and edit the audio
  • Headphones

Now that is the bare minimum of what you’ll need, but as you start you’ll find you’ll likely want more equipment. Some examples of these items are:

  • Microphone Holder (either an arm or stand for the desk)
  • Pop Filter
  • Shock Mount
  • Audiomixer
  • Sound Dampers

Now I personally have all of these things expect the mixer and sound damper. I have a microphone that does part of that for me and the other part I do on my editing program.

Here are links to several places that can help you find the kind of gear you’d like to use.

ACX Amazon Wish List for Narrators

LiberVox User Recommendations 

Voice Bunny Best Microphones

Best Audio Editing Software

So these are good places to look. Also doing a basic search for what you need on Amazon will help a lot too. That’s how I found mine. I use a diaphragm microphone.

Something you maybe tempted to do in order to save money and space is get a headset. A lot of podcasters will use them, so why not audiobook narrators? This is a neat trick. I looked into it myself, but I found best quality and best cost came from getting a more formal diaphragm microphone, but if you want to get a head set check this link: Podcast Headsets

So here’s my secret: I got a full professional set up and I spent under $50 for it. Yep, under $50! And everyone I’ve sent my audio clips too thought I used a professional studio. So if you like my audio clips and would like to have the same gear, here’s what I use:

Fifine PC Microphone Set

TONOR Boom Arm Set

Audacity 

This set up as worked perfect for me! I’ve had great audio quality and great recording using these tools.

(Warning) A big factor for recording is finding a quiet space. Now I use my home closet. It’s a very quiet area. The clothes hanging up around me dampen the sound, the floor is carpet, and I put a towel over my table and it works like a charm. But if you need to get something to dampen outside sound in your recording area you may need more tools.

So start on getting the tools you need first. Then we’ll start next week on the recording process itself. There’ a lot to learn, so take it one step at a time and before you know it, your finished audiobook will be on the market.

 

